New Standards for JHSC Training Programs and Providers

Joint health and safety committees (JHSCs) and multi-workplace joint health and safety committees (MJHSCs) represent workers and employers at Ontario workplaces. An MJHSC is a single JHSC, established and maintained for more than one workplace, each of which would normally require its own JHSC.

Some members of a JHSC must receive training called ‘certification’ to perform their duties effectively.

Important Dates

February 29, 2016

Last day for JHSC members to be trained under the current (1996) training standards.

March 1, 2016

New JHSC training standards come into effect.

April 30, 2016

JHSC members trained under the 1996 standards and not already certified must submit confirmation of their Part 2 training by this date in order to be certified.


New Standards

Coming into effect March 1, 2016.



Frequently Asked Questions